Jun 17 92 Miles to Buffalo NY

Good news. I rode today without any significant pain and still no pain afterwards either. 🎉🎉🤞 Hopefully, this will continue to improve as I stretch, use TENS, and apply cold & heat. Also, this was one on the most glorious cycling days we have experienced. The temperature was in the 70’s, it was sunny, there was a steady stiff breeze at our backs, and the scenery along Lake Erie was magnificent. I took a more relaxed ride today stopping more than usual for snacks and photos. We rode the whole way on Hwy 5 which follows the Lake Erie shoreline all the way the Buffalo. The lake was usually visible off to our left. There are many vineyards along this highway and with the breeze I saw several bald eagles soaring over the shoreline. I started out slowly. Early on I was the last cyclist, but as my leg warmed up I picked up speed and began to pass others after mile 20. At about mile 25 I came upon 3 local cyclists out on a training ride. We were of similar ability so we chatted and rode together until our SAG stop at mile 41. We continued to pass or pick up other riders in our group along the way. It was fun and a nice section of road. I had entered New York before coming upon the locals. The SAG was at Lake Erie State Park. It was really nice and we had strawberry shortcake with fresh local berries; delicious. Passing through Dunkirk I decided to check out Tim Horton’s. I made two more stops later for a chocolate malt and an Orange Julius. Everyone was smiles in Buffalo. We came across what appeared to be a Cornhole Competition as well. I took the opportunity to clean my bike as the hotel had set up a very nice. cleaning station just for us.

Relive Video of the Route
Lake Erie from Our Erie Hotel
Vineyards Overlooking Lake Erie
Another State 🎉
Tim Horton’s in Dunkirk
View of Lake & Shoreline from Hwy
Local Shop for Chocolate Malt
Doug, Dean, Phil, Brian, Jeannine, and A Reclined Paul @ DQ in Buffalo
Beautiful Church in Buffalo
Cornhole Competition

One response to “Jun 17 92 Miles to Buffalo NY”

  1. It sounds like you had the perfect cycling day 😎

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started